Posted by: ericvithalani | July 28, 2010

I hesitate to write about this

I hesitate to write about this because no one will believe it, but aliens abducted me. Ok, that’s not true, I really fell in love with a Kentucky farm girl and we are now married and I am the stepfather of 8 children and have a meth lab in a trailer on our 50-acre property. Ok, ok that isn’t true either.

The boring truth: I’m back in North Carolina. No worries, nothing bad has happened. After 30+ days and 1100+ miles in 95+F weather through the South (NC, SC, GA, TN, KY), I decided to take a little break from traveling. It came down to the brutal heat and that it started to wear me down. Even after taking rest days and meeting up with other cyclists, it felt a little like torture. I will bike tour again, but right now, I’m not. A little burned out, I guess (Pun intended). I feel good about my decision and no worries; I am not doing anything crazy like getting a job anytime soon. My travels will continue.

Plans: I have two and a half months before I take a one-way flight to India, so I’m trying to figure out how I want to spend that time. Finding somewhere outside of my hometown to hole up until then, without spending a ton of money on accommodations, would be ideal and I have a couple of things in the works. 1. Spend some time in Gainsville, FL with some friends who have generously offered their guest room to me. 2. I’ve also contacted a handful of hostels within a day’s drive from here to work for room and board. Still waiting to here from them. 3. Meet a farm girl with a lot of land and a trailer and start a meth lab. Number 3 probably isn’t the best idea. Anyway, I am open for suggestions if you have one.

As far as going to India is concerned, I am flying out the same time with my dad (he’s from India if you didn’t know) and plan on spending a month with him seeing family. After he flies back to the states, I will explore more of the country on my own. I have no idea how long I will be there, but I my guess: 3 or 4 months. After that, I am not sure where I’ll go. Maybe South East Asia? I will figure that out later.

So, thanks for following along and like I said, this is far from over. I will update as I decide what’s happening or if I really do get abducted by creatures from space.

Responses

  1. Made the right decision… health & safety 1st. I’m sure you will be able to enjoy yourself & your adventure more now!

  2. Every adventure in life enriches the soul. Every decision leads to a new adventure. Watch out for aliens with meth labs.

  3. Eric, glad you are safe and cool somewhere! This heat can be brutal so I can’t blame you at all! India will be awesome, can’t wait to hear what you get into before then..
    Lisa

  4. Not many people can say they biked 30+ days and 1100+ miles in 95+F weather through the South. It was a brutal summer you did this in. Be proud and rock on with your bad self!

  5. I can’t even imagine cycling that far in this heat – somedays it just feels like I’m choking on my own breath, so kudos to you. Godspeed wherever you are/go. (and as my mum used to say,and angela l might agree, “don’t let the white slave trade getcha’.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

