Posted by: ericvithalani | July 10, 2010

Days 19 & 20 – Total Miles Cycled: 1059km (658 miles)

Marietta, GA to Rome, GA – 120 km (75 miles)

Toughest day so far. Crazy heat. Horrible Atlanta and Northern GA traffic. Dogs. Asshole drivers. At one point, I turned down the wrong road and once I figured out what I had done, I’d ridden nearly 8 miles. It may not sound like a lot, but considering the day, it felt like 800 miles.

I’m not going to lie, I questioned why I was doing this several times near the end of the day. 75 miles is a respectable distance, I think, but add the other pieces into the puzzle and it nearly broke me.

But the shining bit of the day was cycling the Silver-Comet Trail. Link below in another post.

There is some ridiculous property in and around Atlanta.

The Atlanta trafiic hell.

Along the Silver-Comet Trail near Smyma, GA

Biked with a local guy named Bob. He offered to take my pic. Thanks, man.

Sprawl along the trail

At least 15 degrees cooler in the tunnel. I hung out in it for 30 mins.

Bridges near Rockmart, GA where I left the trail. Kids playing in the water (left corner of pic)

I didn’t take an pictures near the end of the day. Just wanted to get it over with.

Rome, Ga to LaFayette, Ga – 80km (50 miles)

Oh what a difference a day makes. Pretty fun day all together. Still hot, but the roads were nice (mostly 4-lane with wide shoulders and little traffic). Climbed the biggest hill of the trip so far when I rode through the Chattahoochee National Forest. All morning as I cycled closer to the mountain, I imagined it as big as Everest: snow covered peaks and wind blowing clouds over jagged cliffs. In reality, it wasn’t bad at all. Rather fun to climb and even more fun to ride down. I feel more confident with any climbs coming up and feel that my sea level lungs will be up for the challenge. Not a bad day over all.

A look at what's to come. Just north of Rome, Ga.

About half way up the climb. Chattahoochee National Forest

View from the top. Worth the effort.

Another view from the top.

Your fearless leader.

Your fearless leader's ride.

Summerville, Ga

Local Summervillians in front of Pop's

Leave a Reply

Categories

