Posted by: ericvithalani | June 22, 2010

Wilmington, NC to Lake Waccamaw, NC

* 87.94km (54.64 miles) June 20, 2010

First day of the trip was pretty good (now that it’s over). Took some back roads to avoid major highways. Mostly through swamp land. Crazy hot with long stretches without any stores. I sort if trespassed  on some  high school’s track field, found an open bathroom and filled the bottles after dumping several over my head.  At one point I passed by, what seemed to be, a biker den. “Want a cold Budweiser?” I heard from  one them. “I’m good,” I yell back and gave the thumbs up. Not really sure why the thumbs up; it just seemed like the right thing to do.  Then I wondered  if they were going to chase me and beat for disrespecting their beer offer. They didn’t and I made it through the swamp and on to the couchsurfing host I had been in touch with.  Bathed in Lake Waccamaw.  Had some food and was in bed by 10 pm. I was beat!

Once I get in the swing of things, I’ll be taking and posting more pictures.

Anna and Jesse, my hosts for the night.

Lake Waccamaw at sunset

Ghandi, the cat

Random Ostrich on the back roads of North Carolina

Responses

  1. Looking foward to the updates on your journey. Stay Strong my friend. 🙂

    • “FROM your journey” NOT “ON your journey” :/ 🙂

  2. Hi Eric,

    I just got the email with the link from your parents.
    I wish you a great journey with nice moments and interesting people to meet.
    Your bike looks very similar to my touring bike 🙂
    Good that you change the “Hairdo” because I had your old ones and I definitley would change them next time too. Also Brooks saddle is a good decision!!
    Honestly I am a bit jealus as it reminds me on my trips I did on the bike! It is definetly the best way of travelling… and on horse!
    India must be absolutely intersting!! I will follow your trip on blog.
    Take care Maike

    PS: I like the photograph of Omi!


Leave a Reply

Categories

