Posted by: ericvithalani | June 19, 2010

Big Wheel, Banana Seat & a Road Full of Promise. One Day to Go.

House on Lee St circa 1973

When I was a little kid, growing up in Huntington, WV, I saw a story on TV about a man who road a riding lawn mower across the county or the state, or maybe it was the country. Either way, at some point I ran, Big Wheeled or road my yellow banana seat bike to the end of Lee Street and stood there and waited and waited for the riding lawn mower man. I don’t remember how long I waited, but he never came by. What does this have to do with anything? About that same time, I started wondering where the road the intersected with Lee St. went to and where the street that ran into that street went to.

Big Wheeling it.

Yellow Banana Seat

Tomorrow I start a bicycle trip across the United States and beyond if all works out, and to steal a line from the Avett Brothers, I have a head full of doubt, road full of promise. But I’d probably feel that way if I were doing anything crazy. Like getting married or another tattoo or thinking that I am wrong about anything. Tomorrow I will ride to the end of my parent’s street that intersects with another street that intersects with another and so on.

In other news:
1. My friend who was planning on going with me will not be going. He landed a really good opportunity through
the writing program he is in. I think it’s a good choice for him at take advantage of it.
2. I am all packed up and ready to roll in the morning.
3. Everyday around lunch I will try to post a picture of where I am (at least throughout the states and while I have
my iPhone).
4. I’l update the blog as much as I can but it may not be every day. Say hi and don’t be a stranger.
5. If you want to ride along, visit, put me up for the night, let me know. This novel is writing its self.
6. I will miss all the people that I know (Wilmington and other places). Even the ones I don’t like.

Responses

  1. bon voyage eric! I’m envious. Wish I was free enough to go. Take it easy, and let the good times roll.

  2. Safe travels, Eric! Remember, the boy is under the airplane. I’ll eat a giant plate of pasta in your honor. Can’t wait to trade adventure stories. 🙂

  3. it’s on, my friend. thinking of you the whole way.

  4. Eat a lot of food and flirt with fast women.

  5. Vive le tour de Eric! Safe travels bud, stay safe and enjoy every mile. I’ll be thinking of you!

  6. Be safe and have lots of fun __ and as Tom says…flirt with fast women or fart with first women…either way see you at north pole, AK.


Leave a Reply

Categories

