Posted by: ericvithalani | March 10, 2010

Commuting w/ a GoPro Camera and Google Bike There Maps

A video of my ride/commute from Wrightsville to Wilmington using a GoPro camera mounted on my handlebars. In real time it’s about 45+/- mins.

Speaking of commuting, I heard through the grapevine that Google released the Bike There option to their maps, which is very cool and it’s about time. Apparently, still in it’s infancy and not all communities have been mapped and embedding isn’t enabled yet. Link to Wrightsville Beach, NC to Wilmington, NC using Bike There. *The route in the video is slightly different than the one on the map, but they both end up at the same place.

Responses

  1. so how are you handling the construction on Park? do you go around on Wrightsville? I tried to cut thru yesterday and nearly got killed by a backhoe.

    • I road through it on the way to work. The works did not look happy that I did that. On the way home, I road through New Hanover Center’s parking lot (in front of the stores). The elderly folks coming out of K&W did not look happy that I did that. 🙂

  2. Very Cool video Eric, makes me want to ride a bike.


Leave a Reply

Categories

